Support


 What are some (or one) of the things about which you usually don’t trust your own judgment, and need someone’s else’s confirmation?

As a teenager- and I think most teenage girls will agree- clothes and appearance ARE important and hiding insecurities is even more important. So, it might seem shallow and silly, but I usually need a second opinion on my clothes or my hair out of my own insecurity. The way I see it is that when someone asks, “Does this look ok?”, they are really asking, “Does this hide my awful zit?” or something along those lines. 

With my writing, I often ask for someone else’s opinion because, especially when I am writing from an honest, open perspective, I feel conscious of my choices and judgements. 

In my opinion, I think having a second opinion is usually a good thing, because it encourages the development and improvement of an idea. It is also support. We need our friends to be there and tell us when our hair looks greasy or our bums look big. We need confirmation that our own personalities are amazing because they are unique, when we forget it’s okay to be different. We need others to support us and help us grow as people. 

 

One thought on “Support

  1. Pingback: Second Opinion | Red Door Ponderings

Leave some feedback!

