Salinger and Sonnets

Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why?

I’d probably pick The Catcher In The Rye. Last year I studied it in my English lessons. And while I enjoy English, the stress of deadlines and word counts for essays didn’t let me appreciate this novel as much as I might have done. I did enjoy it, especially as I came to understand some of the metaphors that I had overlooked. 

So, I think I would enjoy rereading Catcher In The Rye without having to look for superlatives or answers to set questions. I would have the freedom to ask my own questions. 

While I was studying this novel, part of the coursework was writing a creative piece about one (or both) of the two novels we had studied. Sorry Mark Twain, but I chose The Catcher in the Rye over The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. I have to say that the sonnet I wrote was probably the best piece of creative writing I have ever done. Ergo, if I read it again, maybe Salinger would inspire me to write like I had then. 

2 thoughts on “Salinger and Sonnets

Leave some feedback!

