3 Songs, 3 Stories

Today, celebrate three songs that are significant to you. For your twist, write for fifteen minutes without stopping — and build a writing habit.

My first song is ‘Hurt’ by Johnny Cash. This song represents the really rough period I went through last year. While I was struggling with my emotions, trying to express them and just trying to get through every day, this song would remind me of my brother. It would make me forget all of the anger and pain that he caused, and I would just miss him. I would remember the way he used to play it on his guitar in his room, not realising that I was listening. Because of everything that has happened, it is still hard to listen to without feeling upset.

‘Iris’ by The Goo Goo Dolls is just one of those songs that you can never get tired of. It reminds me of so many things; of my childhood, of the long car journeys to my dad’s house, of the struggles of secondary school and trying to work out who I am. If I could sing really well, I would just belt it out because it has so much feeling to it.

And then, there is ‘Love Story’ by Taylor Swift. This means a lot to me because it reminds me of the first stages of growing up, from when I was eleven and every day I would sit in my room and listen to Taylor. It helped me when I was bullied, because she was so easy to relate to and sings like ‘The Best Day’ proved that eventually things would get better. It was her first massive hit in the UK and ever since then, I have always loved her and her music.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-writing-practice/

Leave some feedback!

